Luther on the power of the Word

What is the power of God’s Word?  What happens when a preacher proclaims it?  What happens when we speak it?

Hey Pope, what 'choo lookin' at?

Hey Pope, what ‘choo lookin’ at?

Martin Luther was kind of a big deal 500 years ago, right?  He started the Reformation, rattled the corrupt Catholic hierarchy, and made a lasting mark on Western civilization.  Well, turns out he doesn’t take any credit for it.  It was all the Word, that is, the message of the Bible proclaimed.

I simply taught, preached, and wrote God’s Word; otherwise I did nothing.  And then, while I slept, or drank Wittenberg beer with my Philip [Melanchthon] and my Amsdorf [Nicholaus von], the Word so greatly weakened the papacy that never a prince or emperor did such damage to it.  I did nothing.  The Word did it all.*

That’s my all-time favourite quote from a man who never lacked for fiery words.  He didn’t do anything.  As a pastor he took naps, he drank beer with his buddies – these are what I spend most of my time doing *just kidding!*  God’s Word, freshly available and preached openly, did it all.

*  I pulled this from Timothy George’s Theology of the Reformers, page 53.

Leave a Reply

