An Open Door or a Broken Knob?

doorknob

God likes to get our attention in many ways.  He has spoken perfectly in the Person of His Son.  The written Scriptures are infallibly perfect and our final authority. But God doesn’t mind speaking through other means if He has a personalized lesson  for us.  So, in the past week and a half, I have had several encounters with broken doorknobs and locks.  You never think much about a lock or a door handle until you find one that isn’t working for you.  When you find several that fail you, maybe God is trying to say something…

1)  We just popped out of the biggest cold snap I can remember.  About a week ago I was leaving a friend’s house where I was borrowing some adapters to run a big plug-in heater. When I was leaving I was warned:  “You have to really pull the handle hard to close the door!”  Being naturally obedient, I yanked hard.  The handle snapped off in my hand!  Was it the intense cold that weakened the metal?  Was repeated yanking over the years?  Was it my incredible strength?  Who knows.  I felt bad afterwards but didn’t think much of it.

2)  My two year old won’t stop slamming door to her bedroom.  It has one of those ancient doorknobs that look like a giant crystal.  Like something I’d want on the end of my cane if I were a 19th century bigshot!  No matter how much I keep telling her to stop slamming the door, she keeps doing it.  But now the ancient knob is coming loose and I’m going to have to do something about it.  Another door knob that is not that good at letting me in.

3)  Finally, I came to the Church building one morning and found lock broken.  I put the key in the lock but it just spun and spun.  The deadbolt had left me out in the cold.  I couldn’t get in!  Now I started to wonder whether there was significance to not being able to get into the Church.

There is ample door imagery when it comes to Jesus and the Faith.  Here, here, here, and here.  Jesus calls Himself a door.  Coming to know Him means knocking on and entering a door.  And the Christian faith is called a door that must be opened for others.  All this leaves me with the question:  Do we help or hinder people come through the door?

Do we make clear the door by talking about Jesus and telling the Gospel to others?

Is our Church – both the community of people and the scheduled service – easy to enter?  Or do we make it hard?

Are we aware of others – who God loves – and work and pray for them to come to the Lord?

Are we willing to give up comfort, preferences, and other things so we can become a people that presents an open door instead of a broken knob?

Part of being centred upon the Gospel is knowing the central character of it.  The Gospel is an announcement of Who Jesus Is and What He Has Done.  It has many aspects and implications.  But at its heart is a Whosoever will promise.  Whosoever will come and believe in Him…  Are we as God’s People as open as that?

Leave a Reply

