Christian Manhood or… Machismo

The late Randall M. Savage might be cool and all, but "macho" isn't in the Bible.

The late Randall M. Savage might be cool and all, but “macho” isn’t in the Bible.

There is a lot of appropriate talk about manhood, womanhood, and reflections on both given the reality of Christ.

But one thing has always made me…  uneasy?  queasy?  I’m uncertain about the right word.  But one thing I’m certain about is that machismo in the name of Christ ought to stop.

I’m a very traditional thinker in regards to gender, masculinity in the life of home and church.  But macho cultural accoutrements doesn’t help but rather hinders in that area.  Personally, I weight lift, I pound a heavy bag, I like sports, and I might even like MMA if I gave it a chance.  But none of those things are what Christ-centred masculinity is about.

So if you trying to link Biblical man-hood with some sort of chest-thumping machismo:  Stop it!  STAHP!

Here’s some wiser words than mine (both from Matthew Block):

CHRISTIAN MASCULINITY: THE MAN GOD HASN’T CALLED YOU TO BE – Converge Magazine, Matthew Block
UPROOTING THE CHRISTIAN MASCULINITY COMPLEX – First Things, Matthew Block

 

Leave a Reply

