Why Strive for Purity?

Recently a young man messaged me with a question.  “I have a question for you? Why do you strive for purity?”  Why questions are always the most important ones and this one was a good one.  I assumed he meant purity of a sexual nature.  I answered as quickly as I could with four points.

Here they are:

1) Out of love for the Lord. I don’t want to distance myself from Him experientially.

2) Out of the desire to please God. I want to please the Lord. Obedience pleases the Father.

3) Out of the fear of God. I have assurance of my salvation and yet… there is a holiness without which no one will see the Lord (Heb 12:14)

4) Out of Self-Preservation. The knowledge that my sins, unless resisted, will destroy my soul.

Be killing sin, or sin will be killing you.  – John Owen

Leave a Reply

